Legal Protections
for Patients

History of the Delaware
Medical Marijuana Program

The law provides\that registered patients and
caregivers abiding\by the Medical Marijuana Act
are "not subject to arrest, prosecution, or denial of
any right or privilege, including but not limited to
civil penalty or disciplinary action ...” for doing so.

It also prevents property owners, employers, and
schools from discriminating based on a person’s
status as a caregiver or patient, unless they would
otherwise lose a federal monetary or licensing
benefit. Employers generally cannot penalize
staff for testing positive for marijuana unless they
used, possessed, or were impaired by marijuana
at work or during work hours.

Possession Limits

Delaware’s law allows a patient with a State of
Delaware registry identification card to possess
Six ounces at once and to obtain up to three
ounces of processed marijuana every 14 days.
When patients or caregivers are outside of their
residence, marijuana must be stored in an
approved, sealed container obtained from a
compassion center, unless the marijuana is being
administered or prepared for administration.
Registered caregivers may o
possess up to six ounces s
for each patient they assist. i

Home cultivation is not
allowed in Delaware.

Delaware Office of Medical Marijuana

ww.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/
medmarhome.html

The Division of Public Health (DPH), authorized by16
Del.C.Ch.49A - Delaware’s Medical Marijuana Act, requlates
the state’s Medical Marijuana Program (MMP). The Office of
Medical Marijuana (OMM), began accepting patient
applications for registration in the program in July 2012.

The State of Delaware has issued three (3) licenses for
marijuana distribution centers, known as compassion centers
in Delaware. Delaware opened a pilot compassion center in
Wilmington (37 Germay Dr) on 26 June 2015, that
organization’s name is First State Compassion Center
(FSCC). The Office of Medical Marijuana has contracted with
Columbia Care compassion center to begin growing medical
marijuana in Kent County. The Kent County center should be
open fall 2017. In Sussex County, FSCC will open a retail
location just west of Lewes, Delaware all growing and
processing will happen at the Wilmington location.

The OMM has authority to inspect compassion center
operations, including the facility itself, to ensure conformity to
the requirements established by the law, regulations, and
other documents associated with the contract. These include
the not-for-profit operation and tightly requlated compliance
with personnel, security, documentation, inventory,
training, and quality of marijuana grown,
packaged and distributed
by the centers.
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PATIENT INFORMATION




PATIENT ACCESS

Patients are permitted to obtain marijuana from one of
the three state registered non-profit compassion centers
to which they are empaneled by the Office of Medical
Marijuana (OMM). The Department has developed rules
for the compassion centers’ oversight, record keeping,
and security. It also sets application and registration
fees, which must cover the costs of administering the
program.

The Department is also charged with selecting
compassion centers, based on a scored competitive
application process. Dispensaries must be at least
1,000 feet from schools, and they must cultivate their
own marijuana; either at the retail site or at additional
enclosed, locked cultivation locations that must be
registered with the Department. No more than three
ounces of marijuana can be dispensed to a patient
every 14 days.

QUALIFYING FOR THE PROGRAM

The Department shall issue a registry identification card
to an applicant upon written certification of the
applicant’s physician, supporting application documents,
and a non-refundable application fee. The Patient
Application shall contain:

Name, address, date of birth of the applicant

Copy of the applicant’s State of Delaware or federal
issued photo identification card verifying residence

Medical justification for the physician’s certification
of the patient’s medical condition

Name, address, telephone number, fax number,
and clinical licensure for applicant’s physician
(licensed in Delaware)

Length of time the applicant has been under the
care of the physician providing the medical
certification for the patient

Physician signature and date within 90 days of
application submission

Signed consent for release of medical information
related to the patient’s debilitating medical condition

If | am a homebound patient, can someone else
help me get my medical marijuana?

Yes. A qualified patient can designate a caregiver
who must register with the Delaware Medical
Marijuana Program through an additional application
and fee. Your approved caregiver can assist you in
obtaining your medical marijuana.

Where do | get medical marijuana?

The State currently recognizes properly permitted
compassion centers as the only legal way to obtain
marijuana. To register, or for more information visit
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsp/medmarhome.html

What medical conditions are approved by the
program?

A physician must certify that a patient has an
approved debilitating medical condition to participate
in the MMP. Approved conditions are as follows:
terminal illness, cancer, positive status for human
immunodeficiency virus (HIV), acquired immune
deficiency syndrome (AIDS), decompensated
cirrhosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), autism
with aggressive or self-injurious behavior, intractable
epilepsy, or the physical manifestations of post-
traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and agitation of
Alzheimer’s disease or the treatment of these
conditions. The program also recognizes a chronic or
debilitating disease, or medical condition or its
treatment that produces one or more of the following:
cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe, debilitating
pain that has not responded to previously prescribed
medication or surgical measures for more than three
months or for which other treatment options produced
serious side effects; intractable nausea; seizures; or
sever and persistent muscle spasms.

Is there a fee to participate in the program?

Yes. The fee for processing applications is $125
each. Cardholders will renew their card annually to
remain active with the program. Applicants may
qualify for a card at a reduced fee based on income
eligibility.

\9, COMMON QUESTIONS

Q: How old do | have to be to register?

A: Patients must be 18 years of age, and caregivers
must be 21 years of age. Patients under 18 must
be certified by a pediatric specialist.

| possess a medical marijuana patient card
from another state; may | use it in Delaware to
obtain medical marijuana?

No. To be eligible for the Delaware Medical
Marijuana program you must:

e Maintain a bona fide relationship with a
Delaware physician; and

Be certified with a debilitating medical
condition; and

e Be a verified Delaware resident.

Is medical marijuana covered by my health
insurance?

No, medical marijuana is not a covered service
under Medicaid or any other health plans in the
State of Delaware.

If qualified and approved, are there any
restrictions regarding the use of medical
marijuana?

This program does not authorize any person to
engage in, and does not prevent the imposition of
any civil, criminal or other penalties for engaging
in the undertaking of any task under the influence
of marijuana, when doing so would constitute
negligence or professional malpractice. Smoking
marijuana in any public place or in any form of
transportation is prohibited.

For a full list of rules, regulations, limitations and
restrictions, the Medical Marijuana Program recommends
that you familiarize yourself with the
Act.Title 16 Del.C.Ch.49A as can be found on our website:
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/
medmarhome.html




