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POLICY AND PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT UNIT 

M E M O R A N D U M  
REPLY TO 
ATTN. OF:  Administrative Notice DMMA-01-2012 
 
TO:   All DMMA Staff 
 
DATE:   January 10, 2012    
 
SUBJECT:  Nursing Home Private Pay Rate 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Section 1917(c) of the Social Security Act stipulates that a period of ineligibility must be assessed 
when a Medicaid applicant has transferred assets for less than fair market value.  The average 
monthly cost to a private pay patient of a nursing facility is used to determine this period of 
ineligibility. 
 
Note:  This is not the average Medicaid per diem rate. 
 
DISCUSSION 
 
The daily average usual and customary nursing facility charge for a private pay patient is calculated 
annually.  A monthly rate is obtained by multiplying the daily rate by 30.42 days.  These figures are 
used to calculate the period of ineligibility. 
 
Effective January 1, 2012 the daily and monthly rates are: 
 
 Average daily cost to a private pay patient 
 of a nursing facility in Delaware   $ 214.02 
 
 Average monthly cost to a private pay patient 
 of a nursing facility in Delaware   $6,510.00 
 
ACTION REQUIRED  
 
DMMA staff should use these figures when calculating a period of ineligibility for applications filed 
on or after January 1, 2012.  Policy DSSM 20350.3 and DSSM 20350.3.1 should be reviewed. 
 
DCIS II will be updated with these figures. 
 
DIRECT INQUIRIES TO 
 
Barbara L. Lewis 
(302) 424-7228 
 

January 3, 2012    Dave Michalik  

DATE      Dave Michalik, Chief 
      Policy & Planning Development 
      Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance      


