
Administrative Notice DMMA-02-2008 

TO: All DMMA Staff 

DATE: April 1, 2008 

SUBJECT: Nursing Home Private Pay Rate 

BACKGROUND 

The average usual and customary nursing facility charge for a private pay patient is calculated annually. 
This daily amount is used to calculate a monthly rate based on 30.42 days per month. These figures are 
used to calculate a penalty period when a Medicaid applicant has transferred assets for less than fair 
market value. 

Note: This is not the average Medicaid per diem rate. 

DISCUSSION 

Effective May 1, 2008 the daily and monthly rates are: 

Average daily cost to a private pay patient 
of a nursing facility in Delaware 

$ 189.55 

Average monthly cost to a private pay 
patient of a nursing facility in Delaware 

$5,766.11 

ACTION REQUIRED 

DMMA staff should use these figures when calculating a penalty period for applications filed on or after 
May 1, 2008. Review policy at DSSM 20350.3 and DSSM 20350.3.1. 

DIRECT INQUIRIES TO 

Barbara L. Lewis 
(302) 424-7228 
 

April 2, 2008 

DATE HARRY B. HILL, DIRECTOR 
DIVISION OF MEDICAID & MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

 HH: mar 


