Administrative Notice DMMA 03-2009
TO: All DMMA Staff
DATE: March 6, 2009
SUBJECT: Nursing Home Private Pay Rate

BACKGROUND

The average usual and customary nursing facility charge for a private pay patient is calculated annually.
This daily amount is used to calculate a monthly rate based on 30.42 days per month. These figures are
used to calculate a penalty period when a Medicaid applicant has transferred assets for less than fair
market value.

Note: This is not the average Medicaid per diem rate.

DISCUSSION

Effective May 1, 2009 the daily and monthly rates are:

Average daily cost to a private pay patient of a
nursing facility in Delaware $195.35

Average monthly cost to a private pay patient
of a nursing facility in Delaware $5,942.55

ACTION REQUIRED

DMMA staff should use these figures when calculating a penalty period for applications filed on or after
May 1, 2009. Review policy at DSSM 20350.3 and DSSM 20350.3.1.

DCIS Il will be updated with these figures.
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