D.E!‘_A.iWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES COMPLETE FORM ONLINE.,
Division of Public Health PRINT AND MAIL TO OUR
Office of Radiation Control OFFICE

APPLICATION FOR DELAWARE RADIOGRAPHY CERTIFICATE
LIMITED SCOPE MEDICAL, OR BONE DENSITOMETRY CERTIFICATION

Complete and return this application with a non-refundable/non-transferable application fee toward obtaining a radiography certificate.
See below for specific examination fees. Make check or money order payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control and mail
to the following address. Neither cash nor credit card can be accepted. Incomplete applications will be returned. Allow a minimum of
three (3) weeks for processing. Mail to:
Delaware Office of Radiation Control

417 Federal Street

Dover, DE 19901
(PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY)

FULL NAME: PHONE:

ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: DATE OF BIRTH:

STATE EXAMINEES: LIMITED SCOPE MEDICAL

EXAMINATION FEE: $175.00 (includes $50 application fee) made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control.
(Your full name, address, birth date and social security number will be provided to the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) for
processing, to determine exam date.)

I plan to take the following examination(s), (please check all specialties that apply):

Chest Extremities Skull Spine Podiatry X __ Core Medical Exam (required for all limited scope applicants)

STATE EXAMINEES: BONE DENSITOMETRY

EXAMINATION FEE: $175.00 (includes $50 application fee) made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control.
(Your full name, address, birth date and social security number will be provided to the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT)
for processing, to determine exam date.)

Bone Densitometry Operators Exam (for those seeking to practice bone densitometry ONLY)

Have you been convicted of a felony within the past ten years? YES NO If yes, attach a copy of court documents which
include charges and disposition papers.

| certify that | have read and understand my mandatory obligation to report in writing to the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline
any instance of unprofessional conduct and/or unsafe practice conditions by a medical practitioner within 30 days of becoming aware of
such conduct/conditions or to immediately make an oral report to the Department of Services for Children, Youth and their Families
knowledge or suspicion of child abuse or neglect: YES NO

| certify that the information provided is true to the best of my knowledge. | have included the application fee in check or money order
made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control for each certificate requested: YES NO

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE DATE

DELAWARE DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH ¢ OFFICE OF RADIATION CONTROL
417 FEDERAL STREET ¢« DOVER ¢ DELAWARE ¢ 19901
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DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Public Health
Office of Radiation Control

APPLICATION FOR DELAWARE RADIOGRAPHY CERTIFICATE
LIMITED SCOPE MEDICAL, OR BONE DENSITOMETRY CERTIFICATION

Delaware Office of Radiation Control
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE LEGIBLY

FULL NAME: PHONE:

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: DATE OF BIRTH:

SELECT CERTIFICATE TYPE REQUESTED
Radiation Technician certificates are issued with the following legal titles, after receiving proof of the applicant passing the
state examination. On page 1, check off the category for which you are requesting certification.

Medical Radiation Technician, Limited Scope of Practice (State Limited Scope Exam, ARRT)

Medical Radiation Technician, Bone Densitometry Only (State Bone Densitometry Operator Exam, ARRT)

DUTY TO REPORT
1. To obtain a license in Delaware, you must certify that you understand that you have a mandatory obligation to file a
written report with the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline within 30 days of becoming aware of or having any
reason to believe that a medical practitioner other than yourself is (or may be) guilty of unprofessional conduct as defined
in 24 Del. C §1731 OR that he/she is (or may be):

medically incompetent

mentally or physically unable to engage safely in the practice of medicine

excessively using or abusing drugs including alcohol.

| certify that | have read and understand the provisions of 24 Del. C. §1730, 24 Del. C. §1731 and 24 Del. C. §1731A above,
and that | understand my duty to report. YES NO

2. To obtain a license in Delaware, you must certify that you understand that you have a mandatory obligation to make
an immediate oral report to the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families if you know of, or you
suspect, child abuse or neglect under Chapter 9 of Title 16 and to follow up, with any requested written reports.

| certify that | have read and understand the provisions of 16 Del. C. §903 above, and that | understand my duty to report.

YES NO
| certify that the information provided is true to the best of my knowledge. YES NO
APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE DATE

DELAWARE DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH ¢ OFFICE OF RADIATION CONTROL
417 FEDERAL STREET ¢ DOVER ¢ DELAWARE ¢ 19901
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM ORC R16-S
APPLICATION FOR STATE RADIOGRAPHY CERTIFICATE
MEDICAL LIMITED SCOPE OR BONE DENSITOMETRY

Item

Instructions/Definitions

Name and Address

Submit application with current full name and mailing address. If your name
has changed, photo copy proof is required, eg. copy of marriage license,
judgement of divorce, or court papers. Applicant is obligated to notify the
Office of Radiation Control when name or address changes utilizing ORC
Form R16-A: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/orc.html

Social Security Number

A social security number is required for purposes of positive identification.
Applicants who do not possess a social security number may submit an
official notarized affidavit with their application for radiation
technologist/technician certification. Either a social security number, OR the
notarized affidavit must be submitted in order for the application to be
deemed complete. See ORC webpage (link above).

Date of Birth

A date of birth is required for purposes of positive identification.

State Medical Radiation Technician Certificate

Individuals must specify which type of state radiography certificate they are
applying for:

. Medical Limited Scope, or

. Bone Densitometry

Application Fees

All applicants for a state radiography certificate must submit an application
fee in the amount of $50.00 in check/money order form.

Examination Fees

In addition to the $50.00 application fee, examination fee of $125.00 (Total
$175.00) must be submitted in check/money order form with the
applications for the following exams administered for Delaware by the
American Registry of Radiologic Technology (ARRT):

. Medical Limited Scope
. Bone Densitometry

Medical Limited Scope

To obtain a radiography certificate, individuals applying for a Medical
Limited Scope Certificate must submit examination AND application fees,
(total $175.00) and then:

e  Take and Pass the Medical Limited Scope Exam administered for
Delaware by the American Registry of Radiologic Technology
(ARRT)

The Office of Radiation Control Provides the applicant’s information to the
ARRT. The ARRT will contact the applicant to schedule and provide details
about the testing facilities. The ARRT transmits official exam results to the
Office of Radiation Control, who then contacts the applicant via U.S. Postal
Service. If a passing score was received the applicant receives their
certificate from the Office of Radiation Control. If a passing score is not
received, the applicant receives a notification letter.

Bone Densitometry

To obtain a radiography certificate, individuals applying for a Bone
Densitometry radiography certificate must submit examination AND
application fees, (total $175.00) and:

e  Take and Pass the Bone Densitometry Operators Exam
administered for Delaware by the American Registry of
Radiologic Technology (ARRT), OR

Submit an application fee ONLY and :

e Present proof of having passed the Bone Densitometry
examination given by the International Society of Clinical
Densitometry (ISCD)

Felony Conviction

The radiation technologist/technician regulations specify a list of offenses
that can be the basis for refusal of an application for certification. The list
includes having been convicted of a felony. If the applicant has been
convicted of a felony within the past ten years, they must attach a copy of
court documents which include the original charges, and disposition (case
closed) papers. A felony conviction does not preclude certification in
Delaware. However, the applicant must submit the specified documentation
for review by the examining board.

Duty to Report
Review of Delaware Code is Mandatory

Since 2011, applicants applying for licensure as health care workers are
required to certify that they have read and understand their mandatory
obligation to report within 30 days of becoming aware or having any reason
to believe that a medical practitioner may be guilty of unprofessional
conduct, of if they know of or suspect child abuse or neglect.
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http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/orc.html

The full text of Delaware Code citations relating to Duty to Report Requirements for health care
providers is available online at:  http://delcode.delaware.gov/.

TITLE 16
Health and Safety
Regulatory Provisions Concerning Public Health

CHAPTER 9. ABUSE OF CHILDREN

Subchapter I. Reports and Investigations of Abuse and Neglect; Child Protection
Accountability Commission

§ 903. Reports required.

Any person, agency, organization or entity who knows or in good faith suspects child abuse or neglect
shall make a report in accordance with § 904 of this title. For purposes of this section, "person" shall
include, but shall not be limited to, any physician, any other person in the healing arts including any
person licensed to render services in medicine, osteopathy or dentistry, any intern, resident, nurse, school
employee, social worker, psychologist, medical examiner, hospital, health care institution, the Medical
Society of Delaware or law-enforcement agency. In addition to and not in lieu of reporting to the Division
of Family Services, any such person may also give oral or written notification of said knowledge or
suspicion to any police officer who is in the presence of such person for the purpose of rendering
assistance to the child in question or investigating the cause of the child's injuries or condition.

16 Del. C. 1953, § 1002; 58 Del. Laws, c. 154; 60 Del. Laws, c. 494, § 1; 72 Del. Laws, ¢. 179, § 4; 77
Del. Laws, c. 320, 8 1.;

§ 904. Nature and content of report; to whom made.

Any report of child abuse or neglect required to be made under this chapter shall be made to the
Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families. An immediate oral report shall be made
by telephone or otherwise. Reports and the contents thereof including a written report, if requested, shall
be made in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Division, or in accordance with the rules and
regulations adopted by the Division.

16 Del. C. 1953, § 1003; 58 Del. Laws, c. 154; 60 Del. Laws, c. 494, § 1; 64 Del. Laws, c. 108, §§ 4, 11;
77 Del. Laws, ¢. 320, § 2.;

TITLE 24
Professions and Occupations
CHAPTER 17. MEDICAL PRACTICE ACT

Subchapter IV. Disciplinary Regulation; Proceedings of the Board
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§ 1730. Duty to report unprofessional conduct and inability to practice medicine [Effective Jan. 30, 2011]

(a) Every person to whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued has a duty to report to the Board if
that person is treating professionally another person who possesses a certificate to practice medicine for a
condition defined in § 1731(c) of this title, if, in the reporting person's opinion, the person being treated
may be unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety. The reporting person shall provide the
Board with a written report which includes the name and address of the person being treated, the exact
condition being treated, and the reporting person's opinion of whether or not action should be taken under
§ 1731 of this title. A person reporting to the Board or testifying in any proceeding as a result of making a
report pursuant to this section is immune from claim, suit, liability, damages, or any other recourse, civil
or criminal, so long as the person acted in good faith and without gross or wanton negligence; good faith
being presumed until proven otherwise, and gross or wanton negligence required to be shown by the
complainant.

(b)(1) Every person to whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued and health care facility as
defined in § 1740 of this title has a duty to report to the Board within 30 days:

a. Any change in hospital privileges; and
b. Any disciplinary action taken by a medical society against that person; and

c. Any reasonably substantiated incidents involving violence, threat of violence, abuse, or
neglect by a person toward any other person.

(2) Every person certified to practice medicine in this State shall report to the Board within 30
days any civil or criminal investigation in any jurisdiction which concerns that person's certification or
license or other authorization to practice medicine. The Board may require an applicant to provide
sufficient documentation to enable the Board to determine whether to investigate, pursuant to § 1732 of
this title, or whether there are grounds for discipline under § 1731(b) of this title.

(c) Every person to whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued has a duty to report to the Board,
within 60 days, all information concerning medical malpractice claims settled or adjudicated to final
judgment, as provided in Chapter 68 of Title 18, and, within 30 days, all information required to be
reported under § 1731A(f) of this title.

(d) Every person to whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued has a duty to report, within 30
days of the day each such person becomes aware, of the existence of a report to the Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families under Chapter 9 of Title 16 against that person
concerning child abuse or neglect or a report to the Division of Long-Term Care Residents Protection
under Chapter 85 of Title 11 against that person concerning adult abuse, neglect, mistreatment, or
financial exploitation.

60 Del. Laws, c. 462, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 71 Del. Laws, c. 102, §§ 8,9; 75 Del. Laws, c. 141, §
1; 77 Del. Laws, c. 320, § 9; 77 Del. Laws, c. 325, § 1; 77 Del. Laws, c. 460, § 2.;

§ 1731A. Duty to Report.
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(a) Any person may report to the Board information that the reporting person reasonably believes
indicates that a person certified and registered to practice medicine in this State is or may be guilty of
unprofessional conduct or may be unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety to patients
by reason of mental illness or mental incompetence; physical illness, including deterioration through the
aging process or loss of motor skill; or excessive use or abuse of drugs, including alcohol. The following
have an affirmative duty to report, and must report, such information to the Board in writing within 30
days of becoming aware of the information:

(1) All persons certified to practice medicine under this chapter;
(2) All certified, registered, or licensed healthcare providers;
(3) The Medical Society of Delaware;

(4) All healthcare institutions in the State;

(5) All state agencies other than law-enforcement agencies;

(6) All law-enforcement agencies in the State, except that such agencies are required to report
only new or pending investigations of alleged criminal conduct specified in § 1731(b)(2) of this title, and
are further required to report within 30 days of the close of a criminal investigation or the arrest of a
person licensed under this chapter.

(b) If a person certified to practice medicine in this State voluntarily resigns from the staff of a
healthcare institution, or voluntarily limits that person's own staff privileges at a healthcare institution, or
fails to reapply for hospital or staff privileges at a healthcare institution, the healthcare institution and the
person shall promptly report in writing such conduct to the Board if the conduct occurs while the person
is under formal or informal investigation by the institution or a committee thereof for any reason related
to possible unprofessional conduct or possible inability to practice medicine with reasonable skill or
safety to patients by reason of mental illness or mental incompetence; physical illness; or excessive use or
abuse of drugs, pursuant to § 1731 of this title.

(c) Upon receiving a report pursuant to subsection (a) or (b) of this section, or on its own motion, the
Board shall investigate any evidence which appears to show that the person reported is or may be guilty of
unprofessional conduct or may be unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety to patients
by reason of mental illness or mental incompetence; physical illness; or excessive use or abuse of drugs,
pursuant to § 1731 of this title.

(d) When an investigation is necessary pursuant to subsection (c¢) of this section, the Executive
Director, with the approval of the assisting Board members who must be or must include a physician and
a public member when the investigation relates to the quality of medical care provided by a physician or
to the competency of a physician to engage safely in the practice of medicine, has the authority to inquire
from any organization which undertakes physician peer review or physician quality assurance evaluations
whether or not there has been any peer review, quality assurance, or similar process instituted involving
the physician under investigation. The Executive Director may, by subpoena, compel the production of a
list of the medical records reviewed during the peer review process, a list of the quality assurance
indicators, and/or a list of other issues which were the basis for the peer review, quality assurance, or
similar process. The lists produced must identify each item with a unique medical identifier to replace the

ORC R16S Page 6 of 7
4/1/2016



patient's name and specific identifying information. If necessary, after receiving the lists the Executive
Director may, by subpoena, compel the production of the relevant medical records. However, the
individual, hospital, organization, or institution shall remove the patient's name and specific identifying
information from the records prior to complying with the subpoena. If, after having reviewed the records
produced, an assisting physician Board member and an assisting public Board member consider it
necessary, the Executive Director may, by subpoena, compel the production of the patient's name. The
Board shall take reasonable steps to protect the identity of the patient in so far as such protection does not,
in the opinion of the Board, adversely affect the Board's ability to protect the public interest. An
individual, hospital, organization, or institution that furnishes information to the Board pursuant to a
subpoena issued pursuant to this subchapter with respect to any patient is not solely by reason of
furnishing the information liable in damages to any person or subject to any other recourse, civil or
criminal.

(e) The Board shall promptly acknowledge all reports received under this section. Individuals or
entities reporting under this section must be promptly informed of the Board's final disposition of the
reported matters.

(f) Malpractice insurance carriers and insured persons certified to practice medicine in this State shall
file with the Board a report of each final judgment, settlement, or award against the insured persons. A
person not covered by a malpractice insurance carrier shall also file a report with the Board. A report
required to be filed under this subsection must be made to the Board within 30 days of a final judgment,
settlement, or award.

(g) An individual, institution, agency, or organization required to report under this section who does so
in good faith is not subject to civil damages or criminal prosecution for reporting.

(h) The Executive Director shall initially review every report made to the Board under this subchapter.
The Executive Director may defer the investigation of a report pending a reported licensee's evaluation
and treatment for substance abuse or for physical or mental illness, provided sufficient safeguards exist to
protect the licensee's patients and the public. Safeguards may include a verifiable, voluntary cessation of
the practice of medicine or a limited or monitored practice. Upon completion of the reported licensee's
evaluation and treatment, the Executive Director may resume investigation of the report pursuant to the
requirements of this chapter. If the Executive Director determines that a deferral is warranted, the case
shall be summarized and placed before the Board for its information.

(1) Pursuant to the authority conferred herein and by § 1713 of this title, the Board shall have the
authority to impose a fine, not to exceed $10,000 for the first violation, and not to exceed $50,000 for any
subsequent violation, on any person, any healthcare provider, any healthcare institution, and the Medical
Society of Delaware for violation of any duty imposed by this chapter, and said fine shall be imposed
pursuant to the procedures of this chapter.

(j) Upon receiving a complaint involving potential criminal conduct, the Board shall promptly report
the complaint to appropriate law-enforcement agencies, including the Delaware Department of Justice.

67 Del. Laws, c. 159, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 71 Del. Laws, c. 102, § 15; 75 Del. Laws, c. 141, § 1;
75 Del. Laws, c. 358, § 2; 77 Del. Laws, c. 319, 8§ 7. 8; 77 Del. Laws, c. 321, § 2: 77 Del. Laws, c. 325,

§§ 7-9.;
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	FULL NAME: 
	PHONE: 
	ADDRESS: 
	CITY: 
	STATE: 
	ZIP: 
	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: 
	DATE OF BIRTH: 
	I plan to take the following examinations please check all specialties that apply: 
	Chest: 
	Extremities: 
	Skull: 
	Spine: 
	Bone Densitometry Operators Exam for those seeking to practice bone densitometry ONLY: 
	Have you been convicted of a felony within the past ten years: 
	YES: 
	knowledge or suspicion of child abuse or neglect: 
	YES_2: 
	made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control for each certificate requested: 
	YES_3: 
	FULL NAME_2: 
	PHONE_2: 
	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_2: 
	DATE OF BIRTH_2: 
	and that I understand my duty to report: 
	YES_4: 
	I certify that I have read and understand the provisions of 16 Del C 903 above and that I understand my duty to report: 
	YES_5: 
	I certify that the information provided is true to the best of my knowledge: 
	YES_6: 


