The Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) has re-issued declarations allowing Delaware physicians to use three vaccines containing mercury (thimerosal) as a preservative. The declarations are effective for 12 months.
Normally, Title 16 §510 of the Delaware Code bans the use of mercury containing vaccine for pregnant women and children younger than 8 years. However, the DPH Director can permit the use of mercury containing vaccines if there is shortage of a mercury-free formulation, or if a mercury-free formulation does not exist.
The re-issued declarations allowing the use of mercury containing vaccine for pregnant women and children younger than 8 years of age are for the following vaccines:
The law requires a provider administering a mercury containing vaccine to “inform the client, parent or legal guardian of the client that the vaccine contains mercury, that they believe the vaccine to be medically necessary, and that the Director of Public Health has made a formal determination that the vaccine may be administered due to the existence of the shortage of mercury-free vaccines.”
For more information, please contact DPH's Immunization Program at 1-800-282-8672 or (302) 744-1060, or visit DPH's website at http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/dpc/immunize.html
You are receiving this email because you are a registered member of the Delaware Health Alert Network. If you are not a member and would like to subscribe, please register at https://healthalertde.org