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1.0 SERVICE DEFINITION 

1.1 Emergency In-home Services is a service provided on an emergency basis to older 
persons and adults with physical disabilities who need help in carrying out activities of 
daily living (ADLs) or instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). Specific supports may 
include personal care, housekeeping, whole house cleanup, preparation for 
extermination, or other related services. The program extends emergency services for 
individuals who are vulnerable or at risk in the community.   
 

2.0  SERVICE UNIT 
2.1 The unit of service is one hour of service.  
2.2 The minimum billing unit is one quarter (.15) hour.  
2.3 Time spent by vendor staff preparing for a visit and travel to and from a visit may not be    

billed. 
 

3.0  SERVICE AREA 
3.1 Emergency In-home Services are available to eligible residents of the State of Delaware. 
3.2 Providers of Emergency In-home Services are permitted to apply for sub-areas of service 

within the state. 
 

4.0  SERVICE LOCATION 
4.1 Emergency Services are conducted in the homes of individual participants and/or in other 

locations based on the needs of participants.  
 

5.0      ELIGIBILITY  
5.1 The Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD) 

determines eligibility for the service.  
5.1.1 An individual meets the criteria for Emergency In-home Services when they 

are residing in the community and are in need of assistance with activities of 
daily living (ADL) and instrumental activities of daily living (IADL). 

5.1.2 The DSAAPD program supervisor or his/her designee will determine and 
authorize the amount of service units a participant will receive.  
 

6.0      SERVICE STANDARDS 
6.1 The provider must comply with all Federal, State, and local rules, regulations and laws 

applicable to the provision of the service. 
6.2 Eligible emergency in-home services providers include: 

6.2.1 Home health agencies licensed by the State of Delaware 
6.2.2 Personal assistance services agencies licensed by the State of Delaware 

6.3 The provider must develop and maintain policies and procedures for the delivery of 
emergency in-home services 

6.4 The provider must furnish services only to those participants prior-authorized by the 
DSAAPD and in accordance with service referral form received from the DSAAPD. 

6.5 The provider must communicate with the DSAAPD RN or Case Manager to request an 
authorization for additional service hours if, in the professional judgment of the provider, 
more time is required to meet the needs of an individual participant. 

6.6 The provider must establish contact with the participant within one (1) day of referral from 
DSAAPD. 
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6.7 The provider must render services within (1) day of referral if it is deemed necessary by 

DSAAPD, otherwise services must be rendered within (3) days. 
6.8 The provider must be able to render services 24-hours/day, 7-days/week.  
6.9 The provider must ensure access to the participant’s case files by authorized 

representatives of Delaware Health and Social Services. 
6.10 The provider must operate the program and maintain records in a manner which is 

consistent with a participant’s right to privacy and confidentiality. 
 

7.0 PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS 
7.1 The provider must employ staff member(s) with knowledge, experience and abilities   
       sufficient to carry out the required service. 
7.2 Providers must have a valid Delaware business license. 

 
8.0 INVOICING REQUIREMENTS 

8.1 The provider must invoice DSAAPD pursuant to the DSAAPD Policy Manual for Contracts,  
       Policy X-Q, and Invoicing. 

 


