Current Suspected Overdose Deaths in Delaware for 2024: Get Help Now!

Find school water testing results and additional resources

Attention Medicaid Participants: Eligibility Renewals Restarted April 1, 2023 logo

Medical Marijuana Health Care Practitioner Information

Health Care Practitioner FAQs

  • Q. Am I required to complete a health care practitioner certification for a patient?
    • No. Health care practitioners are not required to complete and sign the certification
  • Q. Am I mandated to sign the certification?
    • Yes. If a health care practitioner is willing to complete a health care practitioner certification for a patient to use medical marijuana, then you must sign the form.
  • Q. What am I actually certifying?
    • You are certifying that you have completed an in-person patient assessment;
    • The patient DOES have one of the qualifying conditions;
    • That you are licensed to practice in Delaware
  • Q. Do I need any special training or certification to certify patients?
    • Any MD (medical Doctor) or DO (doctor of osteopathy), APRN (Advanced Practice RN), or PA (Physician Assistant) licensed to practice in Delaware is authorized to certify and there is no specific medical marijuana training required by law in order to certify patients for the program.
  • Q. Will the certifications be verified?
    • Yes. The Medical Marijuana Program may contact the health care practitioner to verify the certification.
  • Q. Do I keep a medical record of the visit?
    • Yes. You should keep a record of the visit and make it a part of the patient’s medical record.
  • Q. When does the health care practitioner certification expire?
    • The health care practictioner certification is valid for 90 days from the date you sign the certification. If a patient fails to submit their application within the 90 day window, they will be required to obtain another certification. The patient’s registry ID card is only valid for one year from the time of issue, so they will be required to obtain another certification when they renew.

      If you have further questions or concerns, call the Medical Marijuana Program.
Additional Links

Medical Marijuana Program Home Page

Office Location

Contact the Program
By Phone
By E-Mail

Health Care Practitioner Information

Health Care Practitioner Manual

Physician’s Compassionate Use Information

Patient Card Options

Medical Marijuana Physician Education Video

Application Forms


Pediatric Patient


Fee Waiver Request

Compassionate Use Patient

Compassionate Use Pediatric

Pediatric Responsible Party Form

Download Adobe Acrobat Reader Please note: Some of the files available on this page are in Adobe PDF format which requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. A free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded directly from Adobe . If you are using an assistive technology unable to read Adobe PDF, please either view the corresponding text only version (if available) or visit Adobe's Accessibility Tools page.