DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Public Health

OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

March 24, 2021

CERTIFIED MAIL

Thurston’s Pub
32 Fox Hunt Dr.
Bear, DE 19701-2534

Notice of Administrative Penalty
Dear Thurston’s Pub:

The following Notice of Violation is issued under the authority of the Secretary, Delaware
Health and Social Services pursuant to 16 Del. C. 8122 (3) and the Declaration of a State
of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public Health Threat, including its
modifications.

Notice of Violation

After receiving complaints of non-compliance, the Division of Public Health (DPH)
conducted a site visit to the above referenced location on March 17, 2021 to assess
compliance with the current restrictions in place to reduce transmission of COVID-19.
DPH inspectors provided education to Thurston’s Pub during these visits to assist with
compliance on August 3, 2020 and February 4, 2021.

During the March 17, 2021 visit, DPH inspectors observed the following violations:
e Lack of appropriated face covering among staff and customers, in violation of the

Twenty-Seventh Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the
State of Delaware and the Governor’'s Phase 2 Reopening Plan.

e Lack of social distancing among customers, in violation of the Twenty-Seventh
Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware
and the Governor’s Phase 2 Reopening Plan.

Notice of Administrative Penalty

Under 16 Del. C. 8107(a) the Department of Health and Social Services has the authority
to impose an administrative penalty upon any business that refuses, fails or neglects to
perform the duties required of it. The penalty shall be $100.00 to $1,000.00 per Violation
per day and may result in closure of the facility. On March 17, 2021, DPH inspectors
witnessed an absolute refusal by management to enforce COVID restrictions.
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Due to non-compliance, the administrative penalty assessed is $1,000.00 ($500.00 per
violation observed on March 17, 2021) This penalty is payable to the “State of Delaware”
and must be received within 30 day of receipt of this notice. DPH does not accept the
validity of any disclaimer of liability that may accompany your payment of this penalty.
Payment must be sent to the following address:

CENTRAL BILLING

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
417 Federal St

Dover, DE 19901-3635

If you wish to contest this administrative penalty, you may request an administrative
hearing before an Administrative Hearing Officer. Your written request must be sent to
the address listed above within 30 calendar days of receipt of this notice.

Failure to remit or request an administrative hearing within 30 days of receipt of this letter
may result in additional legal action.

Any questions regarding this warning or how to gain compliance may be directed to Mr.
Jamie Mack at 302-744-4832.

Sincerely,

Karyl T. Rattay, MD, MS, FAAP
Director

Pc: Jamie Mack, Section Chief, Health Systems Protection
Joanna Suder, DAG



