DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Public Health

OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

January 6, 2021

CERTIFIED MAIL

Mr. John Osborne
The Training Center
807 Churchmans Rd
New Castle, DE 19720

Notice of Administrative Penalty
Dear Mr. Osborne:

The following Notice of Violation is issued under the authority of the Secretary,
Delaware Health and Social Services pursuant to 16 Del. C. §122 (3) and the
Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public
Health Threat, including its modifications.

Notice of Violation

After receiving complaints of non-compliance, the Division of Public Health (DPH)
conducted multiple site visits to The Training Center over the months of August,
September, and October regarding members not wearing face coverings
appropriately while in the facility. A Notice of Warning was issued on November
18, 2020.

DPH has received additional complaints and has reviewed photos taken during
December 2020. The review of photo evidence confirmed the following
violations: _
o Lack of face coverings among members, in violation of the Twenty-
Seventh Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the
State of Delaware and the Governor's Phase 2 Reopening Plan.

Effective November 23, 2020, individuals are required to wear masks at all times
inside gyms and exercise facilities, including while actively exercising.

Notice of Administrative Penalty

Under 16 Del. C. §107(a) the Department of Health and Social Services has the
authority to impose an administrative penalty upon any individual who refuses,

JESSE S. COOPER BUILDING * FEDERAL STREET * DOVER * DELAWARE
MAILING ADDRESS: 417 FEDERAL STREET * DOVER * DELAWARE ¢ 19901
TELEPHONE: 302-744-4700 » Fax: 302-744-5361



Mr. John Osborne
January 6, 2021
Page 2

fails or neglects to perform the duties required of it. The penalty shall be $100.00
to $1,000.00 per violation per day. Based on the continued failure to comply with
COVID-19 requirements, you are hereby assessed an Administrative Penalty.
Due to repeated non-compliance, the administrative penalty assessed is $500.00
($500.00 per violation detailed above). This penalty is payable to the “State of
Delaware” and must be received within 30 days of receipt of this notice. DPH
does not accept the validity of any disclaimer of liability that may accompany your
payment of this penalty. Payment must be sent to the following address:

CENTRAL BILLING

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
417 Federal Street

Dover, DE 19901

If you wish to contest this administrative penalty, you may request an
administrative hearing before an Administrative Hearing Officer. Your written
request must be sent to the address listed above within 30 calendar days of
receipt of this notice.

Failure to remit payment or request an administrative hearing within 30 days of
receipt of this letter may result in additional legal action.

Any questions should be addressed to Mr. Jamie Mack, (302) 744-4832.
Sincerely,

e

| T. Rattay, MD, MS, FAAP

cc: Jamie Mack, Section Chief, Health Systems Protection
Joanna Suder, DAG



