Current Suspected Overdose Deaths in Delaware for 2019: Get Help Now!
Application Open to Delaware Providers for Health Information Exchange Mini-Grants
Currently, Delaware CNAs are required to take 24 hours of CEUs every two years through an online company named Elsevier. On January 1, 2020, the company that CNAs will be required to take online training from will be RELIAS. Delaware CNAs are also required by state law to work 64 hours, during their 24-month certification period, under the supervision of a nurse completing nursing related duties.
Additional updates will be forthcoming.
The Division of Health Care Quality is responsible for the training and testing program for CNAs and for the CNA Registry.
To work as a certified nursing assistant (CNA) in a Medicare/Medicaid certified nursing home in the State of Delaware, either as facility staff or as contract/agency staff, individuals must meet the CNA requirements given in the State of Delaware law and regulations. The requirements include taking required training in an approved program and passing a test.
Individuals who are shown to be competent are placed on the CNA Registry. The certification as a CNA must be renewed every 24 months. Skilled nursing facilities and nursing facilities (intermediate care facilities) can only hire CNAs who are on Delaware's CNA Registry, in good standing.
To verify if someone is a CNA in good standing in the State of Delaware, you can check the Delaware CNA Registry. You can also call the CNA Registry at (302) 421-7403.
A facility must not employ individuals who have a negative finding entered into the State Nurse Aide Registry concerning abuse, neglect, or mistreatment of residents, or concerning misappropriation of their property.
Anyone who wants to be trained to become a CNA in Delaware must enroll in a CNA training program that is approved by the Division of Health Care Quality.
CNA training programs that will be privately owned and operated must first apply for and obtain an initial certificate of approval as a private business and trade school from the State of Delaware Department of Education (DOE). Please call the DOE at (302) 857-3313 for information. ALL CNA training programs in Delaware must be approved by the Division of Health Care Quality before they begin providing training. Applicants should allow 90 days for DHCQ to act on the request for approval.
The following gives information on CNA training programs and applying for training program approval:
Please call the CNA Registry at (302) 421-7403 if you have any questions.
For questions regarding test applications, test scheduling, eligibility to test, and/or arranging for special testing accommodations, call 866-664-9504 from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Monday through Friday or download the following documents:
Continuing education is required by both state and federal law to ensure that CNA skills are kept current in order to provide quality care to the residents of facilities and to patients in the community. In addition to the 64-hour work requirement within each 24 month recertification period, CNAs are also required to complete 24 hours of continuing education found at the free Elsevier website which includes:
All Delaware Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) are required by regulation to take Continuing Education Units (CEUs) to renew their CNA certification. Beginning January 1, 2020, all CNAs in Delaware will be required to take their CEUs through Relias. As with Elsevier, the CEUs will be completed online.
Additional updates will be forthcoming.
Nursing students may request general credits for college level nursing courses satisfactorily completed with a C or better during their current certification period by submitting a college transcript to the Division by U.S. mail or fax to 302-421-7401.
CNA Recertification Form
A Certified Nursing Assistant must complete 24 hours of approved continuing education and perform at least 64 hours of nursing-related services for pay in a health care setting under the supervision of a licensed nurse or physician during each 24-month certification period in order to qualify for recertification. A CNA who does not perform at least 64 hours of nursing-related services in a certification time period or fails to complete the required continuing education must complete and pass a competency test.
Certified Nursing Assistants who fail to obtain a passing score after testing three times must repeat the CNA training program before additional testing is permitted.
The Division of Health Care Quality's contractor, Prometric, sends a renewal reminder notice with instructions to all CNAs 45 days prior to the expiration date of the CNAs' certifications. Effective January 1, 2016, there is a $25.00 fee for renewal. In addition, a lapsed certification can be renewed for an additional $25.00 fee, on a separate check or money order, if the request is made within 30 days of lapsing and the CNA has completed all requirements within his/her certification period.
The Division must have a CNA's current legal name and address to make sure that he/she receives the renewal information. It is the responsibility of the CNA to notify the Division of Health Care Quality of any name or address change. If there has been an address change, call the Division's CNA Registry at (302) 421-7403 to report the change. If there has been a name change, submit a copy of the legal document (marriage or civil union license or divorce decree) showing the name change. Mail the legal documentation to the Division of Health Care Quality at 3 Mill Road, Suite 308, Wilmington, DE 19806
A Certified Nursing Assistant trained and certified outside the State of Delaware cannot work in a nursing home in Delaware without a Delaware certificate. Delaware certification is required before the person begins working as a CNA, whether working directly for a nursing home or through a temporary/contract agency.
The Division will grant certification through the process of reciprocity if the following conditions are met:
Application and Instructions for Reciprocity. You can also get a copy by calling the CNA Registry at (302) 421-7403.
Instructions indicate that the CNA must complete pages three through six of the reciprocity application and mail that page back to the Division of Health Care Quality, 24 NW Front Street, Suite 100, Milford, DE 19963. In addition to the completed application (page 3-4), the CNA must submit a legible copy of their (government issued) photo identification, THE SEALED COPY of the National Practitioner Data Bank self query, the Employer Verification form (page 5) and/or the Training Program Verification form (page 6). Please visit the National Practitioner Data Bank to request a search of your information; the cost is $4.00 for the self query. All documents should be submitted, along with the $30.00 processing fee. Checks/money orders should be made payable to: STATE OF DELAWARE.