Current Suspected Overdose Deaths in Delaware for 2023: Get Help Now!
Find school water testing results and additional resources
Attention Medicaid Participants: Eligibility Renewals Restarted April 1, 2023
The goal of the Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP) is to help pay for prescription medications for elderly and/or disabled individuals who cannot afford the full cost of filling their doctor's prescriptions. The program is designed to aid eligible individuals who have no prescription insurance other than Medicare Part D, and whose income is at or below 200% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL), or whose prescription costs exceed 40% of their income.
The Delaware Prescription Assistance Program will provide each eligible individual with up to $3000 per year toward medically necessary prescription drugs and Medicare Part D premiums. The program does not pay for diabetic supplies for Medicare recipients. Medicare currently provides this coverage under the Medicare Part B benefit.
Clients must make a co-payment of 25% of the cost of the prescription, or a minimum of $5. The co-pay is collected by the dispensing pharmacy. The pharmacy submits a claim to DPAP and is reimbursed directly.
You may qualify for prescription assistance if you are a Delaware resident, and
If you are eligible for Medicare, you must show proof of enrollment in a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan (Part D) - and in Social Security's Extra Help Program if you are eligible – within 90 days from the date your DPAP benefits begin. You are not eligible for prescription assistance if your prescription costs are covered by full Medicaid benefits or by a health insurance plan other than a Medicare Part D plan.
To obtain an application for prescription assistance or for help filling out an application, call 1-844-245-9580 and press 0 or stay on the line to reach a representative who can help. You may also print a copy of the DPAP Application form.
Applicants will need to provide proof of income and/or Social Security Disability benefits with their signed and dated application. Mail the completed application to the address printed on the form. Applicants do not need to come into our office to apply.
The Delaware State Legislature established the Delaware Prescription Drug Payment Assistance Program by passing Senate Bill 6 during the 1999 legislative session. The resulting statute can be found in Title 16, Chapter 30B of the Delaware Code. The State pays for the prescription assistance program with tobacco settlement funds through the Delaware Health Fund. Enrollment in the program began in January 2000.