Current Suspected Overdose Deaths in Delaware for 2022: Get Help Now!
COVID-19 Testing in High Demand. Check That Testing Sites Are Open and Accepting Walk-ups If You Don't Have an Appointment.
Molly Magarik, Secretary
Jill Fredel, Director of Communications
302-255-9047, Cell 302-357-7498
Date: February 26, 2021
DOVER (Feb. 25, 2021) - The Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) has issued a new order related to requirements around second dose administration by providers. The order, signed by DPH on Feb. 23, requires health care/vaccination providers to administer the second dose of a two-dose series to persons who received a first dose from them, if requested. It further indicates that administration of the second dose shall be a higher priority than administration of a first dose to an unvaccinated person if vaccine supply is not sufficient to accomplish both. Health care/vaccination providers shall also be required to administer a second dose to patients of record who have been administered the first dose by a different provider. A second order, signed Feb. 25, requires vaccination providers to report inventory daily to Vaccine Finder, a national web-based system that allows providers to report levels of supply.
Failure to comply with these orders may result in a fine between $100 and $1,000 per day. Repeated failure to comply may result in cessation of vaccine distribution to the non-compliant provider. The second-dose order can be found at https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/177/2021/02/Vaccine-Order-02-23-21.pdf. If vaccine supply is insufficient, no provider shall be penalized for failure to follow the requirements. The order to report vaccine inventory can be found at https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/177/2021/02/VaccineFinder-Order-02.25.21.pdf.
In addition to the order, DPH has summarized existing provider vaccination requirements. The requirements and specific penalties for non-compliance can be found at: https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/177/2021/02/Vaccination-Requirements_2.25.21.pdf.
DPH has created a pathway for the public to submit complaints if they believe a vaccination provider is violating any of the requirements mentioned. They can email complaints to email@example.com. Additionally, any health care provider who intentionally or willfully provides or distributes, or who supervises someone who intentionally or willfully provides or distributes the COVID-19 vaccine to any individual who is not authorized to receive such vaccine pursuant to the Vaccination Guidance is guilty of unprofessional conduct as that term is defined in Title 24 and may be subject to licensure discipline. Complaints regarding such conduct should be made to the Division of Professional Regulation at https://delpros.delaware.gov/OH_FileComplaint.
Additional information about COVID-19 vaccine rollout is available at de.gov/covidvaccine.. Questions can be directed to the Vaccine Call Center at 1-833-643-1715. People who are deaf or hard of hearing should call 2-1-1 or text their ZIP code to 898-211. Individuals can email their questions concerning the vaccine to Vaccine@Delaware.gov.
Delaware Health and Social Services is committed to improving the quality of the lives of Delaware's citizens by promoting health and well-being, fostering self-sufficiency, and protecting vulnerable populations.